Springfield Chamber announces Small Business Award winners

The Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce hosted the 35th Annual Small Business Awards on Oct. 21 at the Crowne Plaza Springfield Convention Center. The 28 nominees attended the event in person while nearly 200 people viewed the event virtually.

The event recognized four outstanding community entrepreneurs in the following categories:

Jordan Powell of Illinois Primary Healthcare Association was selected as the Not-for-Profit Director of the Year; Mark and Christine Bailey of Bailey Family Insurance were recognized in the New & Emerging Business Owner of the Year category; Michelle Knox of WindSolarUSA was chosen as the Small Business Owner of the Year and Susan Cain of Vono Medical Supplies was recognized with the Lifetime Award for Business owner of the Year.

“Our Small Business Award recipients and all of the nominees are a perfect example of the good work businesses and organizations are doing in Springfield and the Sangamon County region,” said Chamber president and CEO Chris Hembrough. “The Chamber honors all small businesses who work to make our community a better place to live and work. Small businesses are the backbone of our economy and the heart and soul of our community. They bring character, local flavor, personal service – and they create jobs. Congratulations to this year’s Small Business Awards nominees and recipients.”