Illinois Women in Leadership is accepting nominations for this year’s ATHENA leadership award. Submissions will be accepted online at through March 1.

The ATHENA award honors an exemplary leader who has achieved excellence in her business or profession, served the community in a meaningful way and, most importantly, actively assisted women to achieve their full leadership potential. Previous recipients include Karen Hasara, Margaret Ann Jessup, Sheila Feipel, Grace Nanavati, Desiree Logsdon, Darlene Weaver and Gail Lorenzini.

Illinois Women in Leadership Athena committee chair Darlene Kmett said this is the sixth year that IWIL has presented the award. “We are thrilled, once again, for the opportunity to honor female leaders in Central Illinois, who support and mentor other women in the area. We strongly encourage nominations from all sectors of the community.”

Illinois Women in Leadership, which has more than 200 members, has secured sponsorships from United Community Bank and Memorial Health System for the event, which will take place on July 25 at 5 p.m. at Erin’s Pavilion in Southwind Park.


Got something to say?

Send a letter to the editor and we'll publish your feedback in print!

Comments (0)
Add a Comment