MacArthur Boulevard Association presents 2017 awards and charitable contributions


The MacArthur Boulevard Association (MBA) presented awards and charitable contributions at their annual meeting on December 14.

MBA held four Bites on the Boulevard events during 2017, with as many as nine food trucks at a single event. “We hope that this event over the past three years has done its part to support the growing food truck industry in Springfield,” said Michael Higgins, president of MBA. “This industry’s success continues to inspire people to establish new food trucks, create affiliated new brick and mortar restaurants, and we have seen other neighborhood associations hold food truck events, all of which give Springfield a greater sense of community.”

Each Bites event served as a fundraiser for one of the four schools in the MacArthur area. In addition to those funds, MBA presented checks for $1,000 each to Butler Elementary School, Blessed Sacrament School, Black Hawk Elementary School and Franklin Middle School at the annual meeting.

The award for Outstanding New MBA Business Member was presented to Pie’s the Limit, owned by Chris Hanken and Vic Lanzotti. Neighborhood police officer Tami Russell was recognized as Outstanding MBA Civic Member while Terrance Jordan, principal of Black Hawk Elementary School, was named the Outstanding MBA Education Member. The final award, for Outstanding Community Volunteer, was given to a team of retired teachers: Linda Cox, Monica Davis, Laurie Farrell, Sue Hage, Sue Manson and Pat Ryan. Collectively, they have devoted hundreds of hours of tutoring and mentoring through the after school program for children who live in the Boulevard Townhomes.

For 2018, Michael Higgins will continue to serve as president of MBA with Julie Dirksen serving as vice president, Loretta Durbin as secretary, and Daniel Shelton as treasurer. Board members are Fred Coombe, Katie Davison, Doug Dougherty, John LeValley and Jess Weitzel.