SIU Med School Announces Honor Society Members

Fifteen new members have been inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine in Springfield. They were inducted at the spring banquet for SIU’s Eta chapter at the spring banquet May 16 at Panther Creek Country Club.

Newly elected students from the Class of 2015 are: Anita Ahuja, daughter of Cheryl Faidley and Dee Ahuja of Rock Island; Samuel Hughes, son of Kenneth and Ann Hughes of Riverton; Kelli Kreher, daughter of Ken and Lori Kreher of Freeburg; and Christian McNeely, son of Charles and Susan McNeely of Jacksonville.

They joined seven students from the Class of 2014 who were nominated to AOA in the fall: Dr. Christopher Betzle, son of John and Elodie Betzle of East Moline; Dr. Cathy Feller, daughter of Stan and Sally Feller of Savoy; Dr. Jacob Parke, son of Brian and Karina Parke of St. Joseph; Dr. Joseph Raab, son of Dan and Mary Raab of Taylorville; Dr. Daniel Rosenkrans, son of Jim and Lisa Rosenkrans of Pecatonica; Dr. Kirk Thompson, son of Jay and Kristie Thompson of Harrisburg; and Dr. Christopher Wakid, son of Bob and Deb Wakid of Danvers.

Three resident physicians from SIU training programs were also selected: Dr. Deborah Farr Date, a surgery resident from Grand Rapids, Mich.; Dr. Trinadha Pilla, a medicine-psychiatry resident from Chatham, and Dr. Watcoun-Nchinda Pisoh, an internal medicine resident from Cameroon.

Dr. Careyana Brenham, an associate professor of family and community medicine in Springfield, was elected an honorary faculty member.

The only national honor medical society in the world, AOA recognizes and works to perpetuate excellence in the medical professions. Election to AOA is based on integrity, leadership, compassion, fairness and scholastic excellence.

Got something to say?

Send a letter to the editor and we'll publish your feedback in print!

Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a Comment