Governor appoints four new commissioners to Mid-Illinois Medical District

Dr. Charlene Aaron

Gov. JB Pritzker has appointed four new commission members to the Mid-Illinois Medical District, established in 2003 by the Illinois General Assembly to help promote growth in a one-square-mile area just north of downtown Springfield.

Dr. Charlene Aaron, chancellor of St. John’s College of Nursing; Dr. Egbe Egiebor, director of the environmental health program and assistant of public health at University of Illinois Springfield; Aaron Gurnsey, president of the Central Illinois Building and Construction Trades Council; and John Stremsterfer, president and CEO of the Community Foundation for the Land of Lincoln, were appointed to the commission effective April 8.

At the Feb. 11 meeting of the Mid-Illinois Medical District, Ryan Croke succeeded Dr. Charlotte Warren as chair of the commission. Croke is the chief of staff for the Illinois Department of Human Services. He also serves as an adjunct instructor for University of Illinois Springfield, teaching a graduate seminar for the Illinois Legislative Staff Internship Program. Croke previously served as the executive director of the Illinois Network of Centers for Independent Living and chief of staff for Governor Pat Quinn.

In addition, Abby Powell with the City of Springfield’s Office of Planning and Economic Development has been appointed to serve as the staff liaison for the MIMD. Powell has served as the city’s economic development operations coordinator and TIF manager since 2014.

Got something to say?

Send a letter to the editor and we'll publish your feedback in print!

Comments (0)
Add a Comment